aftermath

we dream, we create, we change, we love

philobibliologue

leave a comment »

1563I have finished reading Undine, a notable fairy tale by Friedrich de la Motte Fouqué, my own copy being one included within Famous Stories Every Child Should Know, edited by Hamilton Wright Mabie. Undine comes “recommended” by Little Women‘s Jo, it being one she wished to get for Christmas, and it adds a certain charm to think of reading it to her. Thanks, Jo.

In my current reading of Little Women itself, I’ve just passed through the chapters following the letters sent to Mother in Washington, among which Beth’s foresaw the pending shadows, writing “I can’t sing ‘LAND OF THE LEAL’ now, it makes me cry.” Which reminds me of hearing the song during a certain fateful drive home from Nashville that I had about four years ago. Which these days has me playing a fair bit of Silly Wizard, such as —

 
Thanks, Beth.

In my current reading of A Walk through the Dark, I’m up to chapter 20, about halfway through. Eva Piper has just been describing how keeping a personal journal helped her through some of the most difficult times of her caregiving for her husband Don. Me, I’m now rather partial to WordPress, although I too have fill many a handwritten journal through the years. But yes, I quite agree: journaling is a powerful friend. Thanks, Eva.

Having a soft spot for the sestina, my poetry reading for the day has picked up a few gleaned from the pages of the poetry books I received this Christmas —

Thanks, Sara.

Meanwhile, I’m continuing to make progress through Finnegans Wake and Tarantula. Thanks, James. And thanks, Bob.

bumper sticker [www.internetbumperstickers.com] - grolier
Pages: 1 2

Written by macheide

27 December 2015 at 7:58 am

Posted in grolier

Tagged with , ,

Comment?

