aftermath

we dream, we create, we change, we love

Villanelle Lover

leave a comment »

2015-08-04 19.24.00

The key to a good villanelle is to come up with two lines that are genuinely attracted to each other but also wholly independent of each other, so that their final coupling will feel both inevitable and surprising.

Annie Finch, in introduction to Villanelles

I smiled when I read that. And before reading further, I paused to launch this blog post.

I thought of how I’ve heard it said that a good villanelle is like a great romance. So as I transcribed Finch’s words, I heard her sentence in my head with substitutions for two words: “The key to a good romance is to come up with two lovers that are genuinely attracted to each other but also wholly independent of each other, so that their final coupling will feel both inevitable and surprising.”

Warning: That’s what we know and love as a metaphor, that link we’ve drawn between a good villanelle and a great romance. See? Metaphors don’t hide secrets; they reveal  truth. In any event, the villanelle-romance metaphor I’d heard before (pre-dating this villanelle book by at least 4 years, if but to show the metaphor to be natural enough to have been independently known), returning to this villanelle anthology brings me to Finch’s next sentence —

With its roots in dance, a good villanelle is like a good romantic relationship.

Annie Finch, in introduction to Villanelles

Call me a villanelle lover. I have read hundreds and have loved every single one, good and bad alike. I enjoy reading a new poem without advance notice of its form and quickly recognize it to be a villanelle. And although I myself have written only about half a dozen villanelles, I think I could do a rather decent job of teaching a poetry course focused on the villanelle form.

I’ll content myself with this blog post, with pages pending for the following topics —

. . . which I’ll get around to in due course, the rest of this post pending further time to scratch out a few thoughts about my love of the form, as I proceed reading Finch’s fine anthology of villanelles.

bumper sticker [www.internetbumperstickers.com] - grolier
Pages: 1 2 3

Written by macheide

4 August 2015 at 8:12 pm

Comment?

