aftermath

we dream, we create, we change, we love

New Special Projects Hat

leave a comment »

Starting on this year’s Memorial Day holiday this coming Monday, I will be wearing a new hat for our community: the Special Projects Group (SPG) Coordinator.

Which of course doesn’t mean I will actually have to do any more on any of our special projects than I’ve done the past several years. I can dig a hole as long as they point where and how deep, because that’s kinda hard to get upside down the way I’m apt to fix an electrical whatnot. And I can pressure wash decades of mold off our sidewalks and curbs, as long as they service the equipment for me. And I can still wash the windows and pick up litter and help out with other odds and ends, as long as they can tell me what to do and how to do it.

Actually, for me the hardest part of this new role will be learning and remembering all the names. That’s a skill I’ve had trouble with my entire life — I can remember a tax code section easier than I can retain a name. Introduce me to someone new, and before the introduction is over I’ve forgotten who that was I just met. I’ve been getting a little better here in this great community, even given how thin my memory feels since the shenanigans. But don’t be surprised if you catch me doing an imitation of Dave Kovic in his first cabinet meeting filling in for Bill Mitchell.

Eh, but forcing me to know all the volunteers here will be useful knowledge when SuziQ joins our community’s Nominating Committee this coming September.

Meanwhile, my primary new duty will be to lead the weekly SPG meeting every Monday morning before I have to turn to my deskjob.

 

bumper sticker [www.internetbumperstickers.com] - local

 

Pages: 1 2

Written by macheide

22 May 2015 at 8:24 am

Posted in local

Tagged with , ,

Comment?

