aftermath

we dream, we create, we change, we love

Just Walk Away

leave a comment »

As I continuously update this post through 2015, I will be changing this map to show
the destination equivalent to how far I’ve walked since Christmas 2014.
Clicking on the map navigates to my notes on my walking progress —
through July 11, the equivalent of walking
from home to Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Growing up, I used to walk and walk and walk and walk, every open road for miles around where we lived. Frequently I would walk the 5 miles home from high school instead of taking the bus. Or the 7 miles to my diner job. Or the dozen miles to the pool. And back. Often taking the long way. Over the years since high school, I’ve done numerous long walks. From Central Park to Battery Park in Manhattan. From Georgetown to Capitol Hill. From one end of Assateague Island to the other. Sometimes with no particular destination in mind, sometimes a full day, occasionally through a night of insomnia.

This Fitbit Flex SuziQ gave me for Christmas has put a fresh spring to the steps of my walking. Since I only received the gadget late on the evening of Christmas Day, by the end of December 25, I had only walked far enough to reach the entrance to our community. But since then

  • Through December 26, I had walked far enough since starting to use the Flex, that from home I could have walked to our local library (where no doubt I would have been distracted from my walking for the rest of the year).
  • Through December 27, I had walked far enough that from home I could have walked to the church we attended the first few years after my Shenanigans, which we eventually stopped attending in part because we felt it to be farther away from our home and our friends here than we wanted to be going.
  • Through December 28, I had walked far enough that from home I could have walked to the hospital where I went through my Shenanigans.
  • Through December 29, I had walked far enough that from home I could have walked to the place where Jenny works (stopping by my favorite discount bookstore along the way, allowing for the extra mileage I might put on walking through their bookshelves before heading on to see Jenny).
  • Through December 30, I had walked far enough that from home I could have walked to Kya & Griff’s . . . and after their overnighter with us last night, maybe they could have walked back to their house with me! Or if I had walked the opposite direction, through December 30 I had walked far enough that from home I could have walked to Kelly & Elke’s home.
  • Through December 31, closing out my first week with my Fitbit gadget, I had walked far enough that from home I could have walked to Natalie’s apartment . . . just in time to catch her handing in her keys, perhaps. I’m not sure of the exact address of her new home, but I know it’s close enough to Kya & Griff’s that, having walked that far through December 30, I could also make it to Nat’s new home by December 31. Alternatively, through December 31 I had walked far enough that from home I could have walked to Kemah Boardwalk, just in time to see New Year’s celebrations over the water. Or remembering my goal for 2015, through December 31 I had walked far enough that from home I could have walked to La Porte, on the way out of town toward New York City, still a long long way to go but with a good start behind me.

My goal: to put on enough miles that I could have walked from home to Times Square before they drop the ball for New Year’s Eve next year!

I’ll be continuing to add to this post through the coming year. Weeks after my first week can be reached via the “Pages” links at the bottom of each post . . . . numbered links which apparently don’t show on aftermath’s main page once I’ve made this post “sticky” so it remains current. Those numbered links do appear at the end of this post’s own individual webpage. Or click on the map I’ll place at the top of this post’s first page.

//www.internetbumperstickers.com] - unfit
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

Written by macheide

29 December 2014 at 8:26 pm

Posted in unfit

Tagged with , , ,

Comment?

